Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

So still talking women’s health.

image

On this show we look at the pressure so many women feel to be perfect. The constant pressure to have the perfect body. The pressure to look young. The pressure to be sexy at any age. We are shown images of women in the glossies that look impossibly fantastic and we can feel we should be the same. Never mind the fact they’ve had the benefit of Photoshop, airbrushing or a professional makeup artist with a bag of tricks etc! Not to mention Beyonce who just woke up like this!

I remember when I was approaching 40, it seemed like I was entering the abyss. 40, I just couldn’t imagine actually being 40. I was going to have to choose a new box to place my X. But I found my forties to be my best decade, much better than the uncertain twenties and infinitely more empowering than my thirties. I was looking great, always getting male attention despite the wedding band, people told me I was in the best shape of my life, (courtesy of my regular gym visits) and I was super confident. I felt I could take on the world and look fabulous while doing it!

But now I’m entering the next decade it’s a little forbidding. I had to ask myself some questions. Does the world accept the older woman in the same way when it comes to her looks? Hollywood certainly doesn’t. Modelling certainly doesn’t! Would the world I inhabited accept me? Would I still be deemed beautiful or like so many older women would I now become invisible?

Where can older women go to find true acceptance without resorting to plastic surgery? It comes with all it’s risks; or perhaps she could try a bit of lunchtime Botox, i.e. injecting poison into your body, etc etc. This is surely not a good look. So just how far will women go to be beautiful? Are we willing to let it affect our physical health? Why are so many women suffering eating disorders, experiencing self-loathing? Why is happiness dependent upon the tape measure or the bathroom scales?

Our guest on the show, former runway model Jennifer Strickland tells us that just because something looks good doesn’t mean it is. She says she had to starve herself (as did many of the other models) to be accepted and favoured! She’s says everything is not as it appears and that women and young girls need to know that they are more………..

Listen in here

“Have you ever flipped through a magazine and felt like you’d never measure up?

Believed the person who said you weren’t good enough?

You’re not the only one.

When you look to men, mirrors, and magazines for a reflection of your value, you see only a distorted reflection.” Jennifer Strickland, former runway model

Find out more about Jennifer here

This is such a huge issue affecting many women and I’ll no doubt post on this again during the week. Feel free to share your thoughts.

Find me at @Ask_ Patricia and @AskPatricia2000

IMG_3551.JPG

